The swallowed drink
With a shot of lime
Works its way within
And in no time

All my knots, my tensions
Come undone
I announce to the world
“I’m ready for some fun!”

“Life is good,” I say
And my mates agree
And we raise our
Glasses in cheer

We laugh, we tease
We jibe in fun
Crackling with wit
And intended pun

Much is spoken
Much is said
With great bravado
Without any dread

A drink permits
Both sinner and saint
To speak his heart
Without restraint

A tavern is a place
Designed for the game
Of people forgetting
All title and name

But all seasoned drinkers
A secret know
That the infamous drink
Is really a placebo.

Leave a Reply

