I caught your eye

For a brief moment

Looking at me piercingly

Trying to make inroads to my soul

To get a sense of what lay beneath

My clothes, my skin, my mannerisms, my small talk.

 

Our eyes met

For a brief moment

And then you quickly looked away

Picking up  (where we had left off) the threads

Of a familiar design

Predictable in pattern

Impotent in possibilities

Saturated with meaning

But meaningless beyond its existence.

 

For a brief moment

When I caught your eye

Uninterested and bored

With familiar designs, patterns and meanings

I wondered

About the possibilities of meaninglessness…

 

Leave a Reply

